program diet sehat video game : 2013

Kamis, 19 September 2013

End Of An Epoch

Hiroshi Yamauchi, the former president of Nintendo, has passed away at the age of 85. Video-Games have lost their Walt Disney.

The importance of this man to the gaming industry cannot be overstated. He was the one who decided to change his family company's direction away from traditional toys and playing cards toward electronics and ultimately video games. He made the decision to branch out into American and European markets. This was the man who tapped then-unknown Shigeru Miyamoto to create what would become Donkey Kong.

This was the man who willed home video gaming back into existence as a viable worldwide business when it was all but dead. It's neither exaggeration nor hyperbole to suggest that the entirety of modern video-gaming - everything from the first Game & Watch titles and every single thing that came after - was built on the foundation he laid. More incredible still, he remained in charge of the company all the way into 2002 and had an active role in all major company decisions well into the GameCube era. It's impossible to imagine what this industry would've looked like without him... or if it would even have existed at all.

Gomeifuku wo inorimasu, Yamauchi-sama.

Senin, 16 September 2013

Little Video Game Books Vol. 2

Hello internet!

Earlier this year, I created a series of prints where I combined Little Golden Books with what I felt were a few video games that were instant classics. You can read more about those by clicking HERE.  The response was excellent, and because I had so much fun creating them, I went ahead and made a few more!

This generation of consoles has lasted much longer than any of the previous ones and with that, we've had some incredible gaming experiences. More so than I can remember with any other console generation. As I said before, I wanted this series to look back at games that have had a huge impact on not only me, but on the industry as a whole. I felt Red Dead Redemption, Half-Life 2 and Mass Effect were a worthy follow-up to my previous series. I hope you guys and gals dig 'em!

I love video games, I love Little Golden Books... and I loved combining them into the artwork you see below.


"Don't be too eager to grow up. It ain't as much fun as it looks."
To purchase a print, click HERE



"So, wake up, Mister Freeman. Wake up and... Smell the ashes." 
To purchase a print, click HERE




"I'm sorry, I'm having trouble hearing you- I'm too busy playing with my toys."
To purchase a print, click HERE
             





You can order all 3 prints together! Click HERE



I hope you enjoy these as much as I enjoyed making them!

Selasa, 10 September 2013

Call of Duty: Ghosts (Single-Player Trailer)

As near as can be discerned from this reveal trailer, the story of "CALL OF DUTY: GHOSTS" goes like this: Astronauts with machine guns take over a satellite-based weapon and use it to bomb America into "I Am Legend"-level ruin in advance of a ground invasion; which is opposed by a team of heroes - and their trusty dog - who've all adopted the signature look of a previous COD game's popular masked-hero "Ghost."

Okay. I'm paying attention now.





One of my ongoing issues with previous COD titles has been the disconnect between their sensibilities (dumb as a bag of hammers and cartoonishly militaristic in the vein of Michael Bay) and their narrative/presentation (winkingly "realistic" and sombre in the vein of John Philip Sousa.) This one appears to have addressed these concerns rather adequately: If you're going to be dumb (spoiler: This is going to be dumb) you might as well be Astronauts With Machine Guns dumb.

Minggu, 08 September 2013

TGO Returns To YouTube

Okay, so, firstly: Most recent episode was a Top Ten of Generation 7 Countdown. Did you watch it? Watch it.

Secondly: I've decided to start putting old(er) episodes back up on YouTube, promotionally. The show is still going to live on Blip, and new episodes will make their debut there. But after a month or so, they'll hit YT for the sake of promotion and also because I know some folks have issues accessing the Blip player.

Episodes 78 through 86 went up today, find links after the jump. Also, don't forget: I'll be appearing in person this Saturday (9/14) at ACAM/FunSpot in New Hampshire from noon to 3pm to sell and sign copies of "Brick-By-Brick," so if you're in the New England area please feel free to swing by - if you've never been to ACAM, it's pretty incredible.

Here are the nine episodes that went up today, in case you missed any:

EPISODE 78: "PRESS-PLAYED"
"Dorito-Gate" episode, plus a recap of the show up to that point and introduction of Mr. Phibb.

EPISODE 79: "IN PRAISE OF CLONES"
Different types of "originality" in game design, return of PyroThinker and CryoThinker.

EPISODE 80: "COLLECT CALLING"
Classic Compilations that don't exist, but should. Introduction of Dr. Beardo.

EPISODE 81: "LET THIS BE THE END"
The need for a One Console Future, argued. Return of NecroThinker.

EPISODE 82: "NEVER GROW OLD"
David Cage and Warren Spector's controversial DICE 2013 DICE lectures, disputed.

EPISODE 83: "THE NEXT CRASH"
The near-inevitability of a second Game Industry Crash. Also: NecroThinker vs. RoboThinker, debut of PlasmaThinker.

EPISODE 84: "STARVING ARTISTS"
A polite swipe at self-styled auteur developers. OmegaThinker defeats RoboThinker.

EPISODE 85: "REFL3CTIONS"
E3 2013 and the XBoxOne, recapped for posterity. RetroThinker arrested.

EPISODE 86: "STOP TALKING TO ME ABOUT LUDONARRATIVE DISSONANCE"
Title kind of says it all. OverThinker and Ivan under house arrest.

(NOTE: Due to the way YouTube's uploads work, the "play all" option will not play all episodes in order.)

Kamis, 05 September 2013

EPISODE 87: "Top Ten Games of Generation 7"

And now here we are. It's the end of a generation, which means it's time for a Completely Meaningless Top Ten List!

Dickwolf'd (UPDATED)

(Post moved from original location to allow for commenting)

So, I feel like I need to write this stuff down. And since the situation is still fluid and "evolving" (read: a clusterfuck) it's probably best that it be a blog post as opposed to an episode of this or that show. Plus, since there's no guarantee I won't say something stupid, this way it's all on me and not on any of my employers or partners.


That second part is one of the main reasons why the most recent Penny Arcade/PAX blowup is the mess that it is: The section of gamer-culture (sidebar: folks, we're all still on the same page that using the word "culture" alongside gamer/geek/etc and talking about various nerd-substrata as though they were akin religious or national identities was supposed to be mostly tongue-in-cheek... right?) where PA exists is built around this strange dynamic where fans, journalists, "celebrities," developers and companies are all thrown into a single space and the power structure changes from scenario to scenario. What makes PAX infuriating is also what makes it "work" - it's an independent gaming fan convention that's just big and visible enough that major companies show up to make/break news, but it's also just self-aware enough of it's own humble origins (the whole thing has grown out of fandom for a three-panel webcomic) to still feel mostly like a fan con and not a tradeshow (even though it kind of is, at this point.) At it's best, PAX feels still feels like a counterpoint to the likes of E3, a space wherein the giants of the industry go to genuflect and beg attention from their audience instead of the other way around.

That's the positive side of PAX (and PAXEast, and PAXAus), and it's not the only positive attached to the brand: The comic is funny, the two guys who run it (Jerry "Tycho" Holkins and Mike "Gabe" Krahulik) are talented and they're "Child's Play" charity arm does a tremendous amount of genuine good. (Full disclosure: I have not worked with Penny Arcade professionally myself, but I am connected professionally and friendwise to many folks in the business who are.)

The negative side, though - at least from where I sit - is that the same symbolic refusal to "mature" beyond a certain point that informs gaming/geek/fandom's more charming facets is also what causes an increasing number of it's more obnoxious issues. There's a point at which a "leader" in fandom needs to drop the "what, a leader? ME!?" ironic-naivety and actually assume a certain amount of responsibility... and not everyone is ready for it when it happens to them.

Maybe we should start from the beginning.

You can read an exhaustive breakdown of what this whole mess has been about HERE, but the gist of it goes like this: About three years ago, Penny Arcade did a strip about a game using "rescue slaves from a horrible dungeon" as the pretext for a fetch-quest, which involved one slave describing his predicament as including "being raped to sleep by The Dickwolves." To me, it was worth a chuckle - a cute (if obvious) observation of what we're irritatingly asked to call "ludonarrative dissonance" (read: "when game mechanics are silly/horrifying in a narrative context) mixed with clever wordplay, basically PA's entire forte.

And then what happened next... happened next.

As is the case with 90% of "big" things that happen around Penny Arcade, at first it seemed like they were only involved by virtue of their own visibility and relative tangibility (compared to larger entities in gaming, I mean.) At the time, the casual overuse of "rape" as an offhand term for dominance in gaming (online multiplayer especially) was a big heated topic of debate, and while I don't doubt that the (at first) handful of activists and bloggers who got on PA's "case" about the comic (summary of charges: using rape as part of a punchline is insensitive to rape-survivors) were sincere I do think it's plausible that there was a certain amount of "shoot the biggest, most attention-getting target, not necessarily the most-guilty target" thinking in effect.

Either way, it became a "thing" on the internet; placing PA in the always-awkward position (for a self-described pop-satirist, anyway) of being the type of "gamer-sphere news of the day" they existed to make jokes about. So they responded... and that's when everything went straight to fucking hell.

I want to be clear here: I care about Free Speech. Comedy is comedy, you have the right to joke about anything, etc etc. As far as I'm concerned there was nothing wrong with the original "Dickwolves" strip; and while it's both wrong and pointless to tell someone they don't have a "right" to be offended... in my opinion it's more than perfectly clear that the strip was was making fun of absurdity in game design (and, more specifically, the "_____Wolf/Bear/Hawk/Dragon" naming-convention for fantasy monsters) - not making fun of rape or rape-victims. So not only would I say Penny Arcade did nothing wrong in the original strip, I'd say a lot of early detractors stepped over the line in accusing them of having various unsavory political/social/personal views (agendas, even!) based on what was in my estimation a mis-reading of a comic strip. And if that had been the end of it, then this would be a story that nobody remembers about that one time when a bunch of misdirected outrage landed on the two goofballs who make Penny Arcade.

But that wasn't where it ended.

There's an old saying: "When all you have is a hammer, everything starts to look like a nail." Well, all Penny Arcade had was a webcomic and a default stance of "There's nothing wrong with games and gamers, fuck you, stop picking on us!" self-righteousness (born, it's important to note, of the very real persecution of the medium and it's fans by censorship advocates, hack lawyers and the Religious Right in the 80s and 90s) expressed as smug satire. And so that's how they chose to respond to the blowup, with a follow-up strip featuring a glib non-apology and lots of eyerolling at the very idea that joking about rape somehow contributed to the "it's no big deal" undercurrent at the heart of what's called "the rape culture."

You may or may not have caught a recent piece I did that touched on this topic, but what I said there bears repeating here i.e. the hammer/nail metaphor: Not all criticism is the same, and you can't respond to all critics the same way. Merciless mockery of, say, Jack Thompson or Pat Robertson? Perfect marriage of weapon and target: Assholes, vile subhumans for whom no (rhetorical) attack should be out of bounds. Fuck those guys, and fuck the twin forces of hack-legalism and religious conservatism that spawned them - bad responses coming from a bad place. Light `em up. But using those same "weapons" on criticism coming from, say, feminist, civil-rights or sociological perspectives - i.e. schools of thought that are at least foundationally correct and fighting on the side of progress (if not always in the best ways)? No, wrong response. Just because all you have is a hammer doesn't make them nails.

But Penny Arcade used their hammer, and the backlash against them got (predictably) bigger. So did a backlash to the backlash from PA fans and the growing, vocal segment of gaming/geek culture that had been infected by the knee-jerk toxicity of "Men's Rights Activism." As we've seen with the rise of the Tea Party in the U.S., any space that had up until recently been dominated by white/heterosexual/males tends to sprout a version of this nonsense when that power-dynamic seems threatened by "change;" and in the less than savory corners of gamer fandom the "Dickwolves Issue" became a symbol of their cause: Yet another vanguard of the culture "under siege" by the Forces of Feminism, who of course wanted to "destroy" Penny Arcade just like they wanted to "destroy" everything else they loved.

I should stress that I don't intend to conflate Mike or Jerry (or Robert Khoo, the business-face of the PA machine) with the awful folks who jumped so stridently to their defense. I don't know them personally (we've "met," briefly, but not in any kind of real conversational sense) and I have no real sense of their respective views or outlook on anything other than the game and pop-culture stuff they joke about in their strips. I've never heard anything second hand that would lead me to conclude that they aren't generally decent guys, and if nothing else their "public face" as two guys who still haven't totally wrapped their heads around what they've built. In other words, when all this was unfolding and their constant refrain was that they didn't quite see what the big issue was, I believed them... and I think that was the problem.

What happened next was the "will someone please protect these guys from themselves??" moment of the affair. The fact that being "pro-Dickwolves" had become a rallying-cry for anti-feminist bullies across the interweb had been lost on one or both of the PA duo - evidently all they saw was another mass-rallying of support from their fans against yet another bunch of buzzkills. So they did what you do in this business: They made merchandise, in this case "Dickwolves" mock team-jerseys.

This was the point where even a lot of the games media that were inclined to give them the benefit of the doubt had to throw up their hands in exasperation: Did they really not grasp that - however off-base they might have found the original criticism to be - that by now they'd stumbled across the line from defending their material to giving horrible people looking to bully rape-survivors (and those sympathetic to the same) into not voicing their objections an officially-endorsed banner to rally around. Ultimately, the outcry about this was enough to get the shirts pulled, with PA making a concerted public effort to tell their fans to drop it and to distance themselves from the darker stuff that others were spouting in their names and in general make nice.

Eventually things died down... or rather, they died down on that specific front while the PA crew got in trouble for different things; mostly but not exclusively Krahulik, who can't seem to help but get into these fights usually in the context of going way the hell overboard at even the mere suggestion that he might've said something insensitive. (Sidebar: People tend to assume comedians and humorists must have really thick skins. They are incredibly incorrect in that assumption.)

In any case, 90% of that happened 2 or 3 years ago. But now it's back, because PAX Prime 2013 was this past weekend and someone thought it was a good idea to make "blunt honesty" a topic during Mike and Jerry's annual Q&A stage show and Mike decided to "get off his chest" that he's still sore about pulling the Dickwolves merchandise and considers it a mistake. The footage of this is out there. A lot of people claim this was met with huge applause from the attendees, and maybe it was - but what I hear on the tape sounds more like an awkward, uncomfortable buzz followed by one or two guys giving a "WHOOOO!!!" and then more joining in. Either way, what's more interesting is watching Holkins and Khoo in the unmistakable posture and expressions of a drunk-and-misbehaving person's relative cycling through their practiced rationalizations for later.

Thing is, the gaming landscape has changed a lot in three years. The initial blowup over Dickwolves started a discussion not only about "rape jokes" in comedy but also about the marginalization/"othering" of women and LGBT persons in the community and harrassment on the convention circuit, and things have moved in positive directions like the "Cosplay Is Not Consent" movement. THE biggest thing happening in game press/commentary right now is "Tropes vs. Women." PAX itself has even been good about this - ironically, one of the big stories this year before Mike ressurected this issue was the big reception for several feminism and bullying themed panels. Now? Increasingly prominent people and entities in the industry and community are saying they might have to reevaluate their participation in future events.

A hard lesson to learn in life is that you can be 100% "in the right" about something and still lose, because life isn't fair. An even harder lesson to learn is that you can be right about something only to have it be negated by the wrongness of your reaction. Speaking as one internet-humorist about another, I sympathized (and still do, to whatever extent it matters) with Penny Arcade about the reaction to the initial strip. I can even sympathize with their desire to say "fuck you!" in response, the first time. Having your words misinterpreted to mean something horrible you didn't intend and the subsequent accusations that come with it is an AWFUL experience for a person in a creative enterprise, since it's a personal attack ("you're a rape-apologist!!!") wrapped around a professional criticism ("You told this joke poorly.")

So yeah, even if it's not generally how I handle this stuff, I totally get the compulsion to lash out. What I don't get is continuing to do it (and I'm talking about the shirts and such) after it's been demonstrated that this is A.) now bigger than you and your joke and B.) that whether they misread your comic strip or not, you don't "battle" rape-survivors and women's rights activists the way you battle some asshole lawyer from Florida because they're not the same guys. Doing so makes you the bad guy even if you started out "right," and bringing it up again - unprovoked! - when the vast majority of your "enemy" had moved on... that really makes you The Bad Guy even if you are not, in fact, a bad guy.

Why did he do it? That's what I keep coming back to. The issue was a memory for most. People were moving on. Things had "worked out" as best they can in these situations: He and his strip had survived, a lot of the people who'd raised initial objections had parlayed their visibility in positive directions, things had grown - or had seemed to. Why dredge this up again. Like I've said, I don't know the guy. Everything I've heard about him from folks who do would suggest he's a good person/husband/father/friend/etc. What was he thinking? He has literally nothing to gain from this but a fight... and maybe that's it.

I'm not looking to psychoanalyze Mike Krahulik or anyone else from Penny Arcade, though, because I don't know them as people and that wouldn't be fair. But what I'm comfortable positing that, from a spectator's position, their problem appears to be the same that afflicts too much of broader geek/game culture: I don't think they've quite figured out how to inhabit a world where they aren't in a constant state of war-readiness - a world where they (and their fans) are no longer the besieged underdogs beset by powerful attackers.

In many respects, Penny Arcade is a victim of it's own success: The very fact that they've been able to build a comfortable livelihood, a mini media-empire and a convention circuit on the scale of PAX puts to lie the idea of video-games as still being this niche, "insider" secret-club of absurd codes and contradictions and "Gabe & Tycho" as just being a pair of overgrown kids playing games and goofing off. Sorry, fellas, but you won - gaming is mainstream culture and you are the public faces of a not-insubstantial business in mainstream culture. As such, Penny Arcade the strip is kind of a relic; a leftover from a bygone era where gaming was an outsider "culture" in need of vigilance and defense, a time when Jack Thompson stalked the Earth and the biting, relentless sarcasm of this particular webcomic was one of the key weapons in undermining him. Essentially, Penny Arcade's reasons for being were to make gamers feel like they "belonged" to something and to slap around gaming's powerful enemies... and neither of those things are really "problems" anymore.

Unfortunately, it seems as though PA - like most of "geek culture," is either unwilling or unable to recognize it's own victory... indeed, it's own supremacy. When a sense of ostracism and victimhood are seen as being vital to your own sense of self; the realization that the power dynamic might have shifted in your favor can be incredibly jarring: "I am a nerd. Nerds are victims. If I have the power I am no longer a victim... does that mean I am also no longer a nerd? And if so, what am I?" And the even more troubling implication that having become "The Man" means you might be capable of having the same negative effect on others as the previous "The Man" had on you? It's not hard to imagine being personally affronted and defensive about that. Christianity, for example, was the most powerful cultural force in the Western World for centuries... but it's orthodoxy is still grounded in a sense of victimhood over the martyrdom of it's namesake and the (relatively brief) period where it was a persecuted minority religion in Rome.

Basically, this latest nonsense from PAX is unfortunate, but it's indicative of a bigger problem in this "culture" - we need, at long last, to grow up. Not about what we're into but the way we're willing to conduct ourselves. The notion of cons as a vacation from proper behavior in addition to being a trip to a space concentrated around your interests needs to go away, for one thing, and so does the idea that "we" the conventional majority of geek culture (or the culture itself) need to be playing hard-defense at all times.

I've said it before, I'll say it again: We won. We're in charge. We're The Man now, and it is our obligation to make ourselves worthy of not being toppled. Instead of hyperventilating about some New Gestapo coming to confiscate our unapproved books every time someone says we might've crossed the line in a joke, we should be bending over backwards to be more inclusive, more inviting and more safe space friendly to more diverse fellow travelers - not in the least because the sooner we do the sooner we'll have authentic moral high-ground for "defending" ourselves when we really are wrongly-accused of this or that transgression.

So where does this leave us? I know a few people, already, who are looking to bow out of the PAX scene for one reason or another related to this mess. At this time, I'm not necessarily looking to make that jump. For one thing, it's a reality of business that PAXEast is an unprecedented networking opportunity for me in the gaming business that I don't otherwise have access to because I don't live in NY, LA, Seattle or Japan. For another thing, it's a place where I see friends and colleagues I don't otherwise get to see - that's honestly the more important one, and if any number of my friends came to me and said "we're not doing PAX this year, would you consider not doing it as well in solidarity" I would be pretty likely to say yes.

But me, speaking only for myself, I don't see the "help" that I'd be doing by not going just on my own. This isn't like "Chic-Fil-A" thing, where the idea is to hit the bottom line of a company because it was giving it's money to a political cause. Penny Arcade isn't a political organization, and the only thing not going would really do is remove my meager financial contribution not only from the one guy who keeps screwing up but also from all the other largely guiltless people involved. I also understand, however, that I say that from a place of privilege - if I saw someone walking around PAX in one of those ill-concieved Dickwolves jerseys, I might think they were assholes... but it would never cross my mind that the person wearing it is looking at me and thinking that I'm less than human, or a target. And while I know for a fact that PAX organizers work really hard to make it a safe and fun space, I absolutely get people who don't feel like it is and won't go because of that.

It's a shame, though, because a lot of the people bowing out will inevitably be the sort of people who can affect change for the better. The one absolute good at the heart of PAX is that it really is very much not "about" Mike and Jerry, or Gabe and Tycho, or the comic in general - it's a fan convention through and through, and they've been consistently willing to greenlight panels and events that run seperate or even counter to their own views and issues. Holding a panel about a hot-button issue at PAX potentially puts your opinion in front of fans who might not otherwise have listened and industry pros who can help amplify you. Opting not to do so to basically say "not cool" to a one of the figureheads would be - I stress, TO ME - perhaps not the best alignment of priorities.

I don't know where else to go with this. The whole situation is unfortunate, and the "point" isn't really much more complicated than the plea that maybe we could all try to be a little nicer to one another? Maybe not go looking to start new fights or dredge up old ones? Maybe understand that having personal pride in yourself and your interests doesn't mean you ignore opportunity (or need) for self-improvement? I don't know about you, but from where I sat the convention circuit got better when we started to regard hygiene and social-skills as being more important than we had. "Nerd culture" is getting better the more sexually, racially, culturally and politically diverse it gets - and I hate seeing it take steps backwards, fairly or not.

I also don't know if anyone from or related to Penny Arcade will read this. I doubt it, but we know some of the same people so who knows. If they should happen to, though, my message would be as follows: Whether or not you ever planned to be "more than" a pair of happy-go-lucky cartoonists, you are. You're figureheads in this industry and community, what you say - even flippantly - carries weight, has repercussions and matters. And if you want to keep being the public-faces of your own empire you need to start acknowledging and respecting the responsibility that comes with that kind of power - yes, even if it's less "fun" as a result. And Mike, specifically? I don't know you, but I get the sense we might come from the same place in a lot of respects and based on that I'd offer this: Get some help. Not in the "something is wrong with you" sense, but in the "it might help to talk about this stuff" sense. Take it from me - a persistent feeling of persecution (which is the only thing I can imagine being "behind" this seemingly compulsive need to take a combative "come at me" stance) is usually a symptom of other things that just aren't good to let fester.

And that's what I've got to say about that. Let's all try to be better.

Dickwolf'd

UPDATE: Someone or something managed to trigger the design flaw that makes this post use Blogger's shitty commenting engine rather than Intense Debate. I've locked those comments (because Blogger makes troll-policing next to impossible) and moved the text to a new location HERE.

Kamis, 22 Agustus 2013

Castlevania Dawn of Sorrow Review (under construction)

I have been playing through the game, Castlevania Dawn of Sorrow for the Gameboy DS (via the 3DS) and I thought that I would share my take on this innovative installment of the Castlevania series.

Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow
Picture of Castlevania Dawn of Sorrow for the Nintendo DS

Brief Reviews of the game:

Overall Grade in my opinion: A-

Pros about the game
+ Huge map and storyline.
+ Soma Cruz's soul system is pretty revolutionary for the castlevania franchise as you can steal enemy abilities and use them to your advantage (similar to how it is in Mega Man games where you can copy abilities of bosses).
+ Expect many huge boss battles throughout the course of the game.  Also, the game does make use of the stylus system that the DS offers in various ways (such as drawing symbols when you are about to defeat a boss.
+ 3 possible endings.  By the way, you can see all 3 endings in one play though.
+ Great replay value: once you beat the game as Soma (or at least get the 2nd ending) you can unlock Julius mode where you play as Julius Belmont, along with Yoko Alucard which follows along an alternate timeline that assumes that Soma becomes "Dracula"
+ Nice storyline too
+ It is also worth noting that DOS is one of one of the few modern Castlevania games that brings back remixed versions of some of the music from some of the classic castlevania games (especially when playing on Julius Mode), such as the "Vampire Killer" theme in the "Silenced Ruins" level of the game.  Also (***spoiler alert***), if you are playing on Julius mode, the final boss fight against Soma plays out much like a typical boss fight against Dracula (teleportion, beast form, etc) from Dracula X and similar games and even has the classic "Dance of Illusions" theme song there.  Many current Castlevania games don't have music from the classic castlevania games (Portrait of Ruin for example, did not have them, neither did Lords of Shadow too for that matter), so it is worth pointing out with this title.

Cons:
- The stylus system can make some of the boss fights harder than normal, especially some of the later ones.  Also the symbols do change periodically too and become more and more complex as the game goes along.  You will definitely need to practice your drawing to make some of the boss fights much easier (at least when it comes to using the "magic seals" to defeat the bosses).
- (can't think of anything else at the moment)


Overview of the game:

Castlevania Dawn of Sorrows is definitely one of my favorite Castlevania games (being a veteran Castlevania player myself) and is on par with Symphony of the Night, Portrait of Ruin and Harmony of Despair.   Dawn of Sorrow is the direct sequel to Aria of Sorrow (for the Gameboy Advance) and continues the storyline of Soma Cruz (who was essentially trying to fight off becoming Dracula in the previous game).  After Aria of Sorrow, things were relatively peaceful for about a year or so, and then an evil lady by the name of Cecil (who wants to resurrect the dark lord), enters the scene and challenges Soma to come to her hideout (which is pretty much another version of Dracula's castle), much against the wishes of Julius and Arikado (also known as Alucard), and so Soma goes on a quest to stop Cecil's plan to resurrect Dracula, as will as fighting against his own inner demons at the same time.  Interestingly Julius, Arikado and Yoko try to stop Soma from going after Cecil and her companions for fear that Cecil may be secretly planning to turn Soma into Dracula, but understandably they pretty much get out of his way unhindered (there would not be much of a game if Julius and Arikado managed to pull a plug on Soma's quest from the beginning).

Soul System:
 
If any Castlevania game were to take after a typical Mega Man style game, it would probably be Castlevania Dawn of Sorrow (Aria of Sorrow too for that matter).  You know how in most (if not all) Mega Man games, whenever you defeat a robot master boss, you get to steal that boss' abilities (such as their weapon).  Dawn of Sorrow has a similar system where whenever you defeat a monster, ghost, boss or whatever, there is a chance you will receive their "souls", which is essentially their abilities and weapons.  For example, if you defeat an Axe armor and get their soul, you can hurl axes at your enemies.  Or when you defeat Gergoth (one of the bosses in the game), you get to shoot a huge laser that kills enemies in your path rather quickly.  Some abilities will let you fly, have enemies forced to become allies (such as summoning Gaibon to follow you and charge at enemies he encounters), move around in water, etc.  Obviously some enemies have better soul drop rates than others, but there are incentives to getting more souls, such as getting stronger, having more abilities and skill, plus if you get all of them, you can get a special ring (Chaos ring) that gives you almost unlimited MP points.

(more will be added to this post over time).

Senin, 19 Agustus 2013

ACAM Book Event Update

The American Classic Arcade Museum has posted an official press-release page about the Brick-By-Brick signing event on 9/14. Readers of this blog already likely know the details, but it still trips me out that I'm going to hold an event there so yeah you bet I'm going to post about it.

Kamis, 15 Agustus 2013

Edgar Wright @ Gallery 1988!!


**Update**
"Shaun of the Dead" prints are available to purchase by clicking HERE **SOLD OUT**
"Hot Fuzz" prints are available to purchase by clicking HERE **SOLD OUT**
"The World's End" prints sold out at the show opening!
**********************************************************************
"Shaun of the Dead", "Hot Fuzz", and now "The World's End" make up what writer/director Edgar Wright has deemed "Three Flavours Cornetto Trilogy". They're three relatively different films in that their only main connection is that they're written/directed by Edgar Wright, they all star Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, and at some point, Cornetto ice cream cones are eaten in each movie. That's an excellent basis for a trilogy in my opinion.



With "The World's End" opening next week, Gallery 1988 has teamed up with Edgar Wright to celebrate his career with artwork portraying his various projects. I adore his films, and I absolutely cannot wait to see what he does with Ant-Man for Marvel in a few years. The footage he showed off at San Diego Comic Con last year was incredible, and I think there's no better director than Edgar Wright for that project.

When I started working on ideas for what I wanted to do for this show, I felt drawn to doing three pieces, based off of the trilogy. I love combining things that are clearly not for kids with things that clearly are only for children. So what better way to take these three films, and turn them into children's books!





Limited signed/numbered prints of each piece will be available at the gallery! I'll also have framed #1 prints on the wall.
(I'll provide links for online sales whenever they're available)



There will be some VERY special guests showing up to the opening, so if you can make it, please come early, as the line will no doubt be insane. 

"The Official Edgar Wright Show"
Gallery 1988 West
7308 Melrose Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90046

Selasa, 13 Agustus 2013

OVERBYTES: "Don't Censor Me!!!"

After an unplanned/overlong hiatus, OVERBYTES is back with some thoughts on the evolving debate about game censorship - and why it has a lot more evolving yet to do:

A Note On Ads & Promotions

I just wanted to address a few few issues that some have voiced concerned about vis-a-vi advertising - specifically advertising on this blog and my own promotion of my book and other projects. Those who've had such concerns, please hit the jump for more. Those who don't care, wait just a moment because a new (and overdue) "OverBytes" episode will be going up right above this one shortly after it's posted.

Okay, firstly to the issue of on-site ads. It's been brought to my attention that the infamous "For Male Gamers Only" ads have been popping up in the rotation on this blog. Rest assured that I'm as annoyed by this as you are, that I did not ask for them to be present and that as soon as I have the means to do so I plan to block them from re-appearing further. For now, I apologize to anyone who was offended by their presence.

Why not block them right now? Well, the issue is that this blog uses a Google Adsense partnership in order to display ads as unobtrusively as possible. The way that works is that I effectively "sell" specific empty spaces on the site to Google, who in turn provide the ad content. For the most part, these ads not only change (ideally) each time the page is re-loaded, but which ads appear are often influenced by the browsing-history of the individual person logging on. As such, in order to blacklist an individual ad or an entire advertiser, I need to first see the ad trigger for me and then follow it back to it's source in order to get the correct URL for a complete block.

As of yet, I haven't been able to grab that code because the offending ads have not been triggering for my browsing in a manner condusive to reaching the source (no, just looking up the company's site has not done the trick) but I'm working to resolve this. If any fellow adsense participants out there have dealt with these ads already themselves, I more than welcome them to post the relevant info here.

Now, as to my book:

I appreciate that some folks have become tired with promotions for either the sale of "Brick-By-Brick" or a public-appearance book signing appearing so frequently on the blogs and at the tail-end of my various series. I'll be honest - I don't necessary grasp why some are so bent out of shape about them (I wanted them to be as skippable as possible, which is why they're both at the very end and just part of the clip rather than some kind of hyperlinked/unskippable thing) - but I'm sympathetic to both the "I don't want to see ads" and "I've seen this advertised too often" positions. I understand this, I only ask that readers also to understand my end of the situation.

I've been pretty open and clear about this, but just to reiterate: I'm not one of the internet personalities for whom this is a hobby, a student project or supplement income - This is my entire job right now. Escape to The Movies, Big Picture, Game OverThinker, OverBytes and all their attendant separate profit-streams are my sole source of income. I'm not looking for sympathy there. These are time-consuming jobs, but they're also fun jobs and while I don't earn nearly as much as I would in an office job, or in retail, or construction I'm doing alright for myself. Still, the economy is the economy and every little bit helps.

I'm not going to get into hard numbers here, but these are the facts re: "Brick-By-Brick." Nobody paid me to write it. I didn't get a contract, there was no down-payment, I didn't use a Kickstarter. I wrote the initial manuscript, then I shopped the pitch around until I secured an arrangement I liked the look of with a publisher who would handle the editing, formatting, online-sales, shipping, warehousing, etc. However, the actual costs of printing the first run of physical copies was paid for by me. Period.

That wasn't, I stress, the only option - sharing the expense with the publisher was also a possibility, and while that would have provided a "cushion" should the book turn out to not be success it also would've meant a lower overall profit for me if it did end up selling well (it also would've potentially delayed the release, which I didn't want either.) I decided to roll the dice on "this will work out." My only "insurance" move was to have a portion of the first run of physical copies sent to me while the majority went to the publisher. My allocation (though, since I paid for them I can always ask for more) roughly evened-out to the number I'd need to sell (at regular price) to cover the initial printing cost, the idea being that if worst came to worst and nobody bought any copies online I could maybe eventually break-even selling these on the convention circuit.

As it turns out, I was selling the book's appeal a bit short: Again, without getting into specific numbers, between copies sold at SGC 2013 and the subsequent online-profits, I actually made all of my initial investment back (and then some) in roughly the first week and a half of sales. Never in a million years did I expect a response like that - in fact I'd been steeling myself for exactly the opposite - and I remain awestruck and grateful to all my fans and readers for making it possible. Basically, this project that I took a total leap on with no assurance of succeeding was in fact a success (and a profitable one) right out of the gate; and thank you so much to everyone who bought a copy - I can only hope you find it worthy of your money and time.

Now, on the one hand, that means I probably won't be keeping a full-scale ad blitz going for much longer because, frankly, it's not necessary. There will continue to be mentions on this site and I'll keep the post-credits ads on relevant videos where appropriate, and I'll tweet about it, but the P.T. Barnum routine won't be needed; and as glad as many of you will be too hear that rest assured I'm much gladder.

On the other hand... the remainder my overly-cautious "insurance" allocation of physical copies (cut roughly in-half by SGC and the event at Comicazi) is still taking up space in my apartment. And since the Escapist Expo is still aways off (and since I don't know what the "rules" are for selling at PAXEast - though I can confirm that copies will be at Fangamer's booth at PAX Prime) I figured setting up some potentially high-turnout signing events would be as good a way as any to move some of that inventory - especially when ACAM said they were interested, I've wanted to do some kind of event there for years.

So... yeah. Basically, I overestimated how much in-person selling I needed to do on my own, but I'd still like to move that inventory all the same hence the signing events. And when those crop up, yes, I'm going to promote them. But if things keep going the way they've been going (i.e. very well) the ad-blitzes for those won't be nearly as frequent going forward as well. Again, I appreciate the "broken record" aspect of promoting this project, but this is a business for me and sometimes that entails advertising.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled blogging.

Jumat, 09 Agustus 2013

Book Signing Event: September 14th at THE AMERICAN CLASSIC ARCADE MUSEUM!

So, then, the cat is out of the bag.

On September 14th, I'll be appearing at the American Classic Arcade Museum at Funspot in Weirs Beach (Laconia), New Hampshire to sell and sign copies of "SMB3: Brick-By-Brick."

If you'll be in the area, I'd love to see you swing by and check it out - not just to see me, but because this place is amazing - one of the ultimate landmarks for fans of Golden Age gaming. Funspot is a massive family-entertainment complex, current holder of the Guinness record for world's largest arcade, and along with games they also have bowling, restaurants, redemption-games, etc - plus, it's in the neighborhood of Weirs Beach on Lake Winnepesaukee, so there's an actual beach, water-slides, go-karts and other great places to hang right nearby. To my fans/readers with children: Imagine a rural, more parent-friendly Chuck-E-Cheese's the size of an indoor mall - it's really pretty incredible.

ACAM itself takes up the Funspot complex's third floor, and houses over 300 classic games including many ultra-rare machines you won't see anywhere else. I could not be more excited for this to be happening here.

You can find Funspot/ACAM at 579 Endicott St North (Rt 3) Laconia, NH 03246 I'll be there on September 14th from 12pm to 3pm. Supplies of the book are limited and not garaunteed, all dates/times subject to change. Watch this space for more details.

Selasa, 06 Agustus 2013

Brilliant

THIS is parody done right. Watch all the way through. Starts out as a clever if surface-level send-up of the most common critiques of "Tropes vs Women," (factual flubs, overly-obscure reference points, etc) then morphs into... well, you'll see:

Kamis, 01 Agustus 2013

Tropes vs. Women Part III is now up

Ugh. This goes up just as I'm on my way out the door. Here's the embed, commentary to follow when I watch the damn thing - though I'm most interested to see/hear where she falls on "ironic" sexism:


REMINDER: Spam, abuse of other commenters and/or hate-speech WILL result in comment-deletion and IP Bans.

Kamis, 25 Juli 2013

The Zack Attack @ Gallery 1988: We Made Them Do It

**UPDATE** Artwork is now for sale online!
Framed Album click HERE
Prints click HERE
*********************************************************************************
Gallery 1988 was the first gallery to really understand that not all galleries need to be full of artwork that nobody understands, but they pretend to so as not to look like an idiot in front of other people doing the same. Pop culture has had a major influence on me throughout my entire life, so when Gallery 1988 came around, I knew I wanted to be a part of it. The new show is entitled "We Made Them Do It" and it's a nod to the fact that the success of Gallery 1988 has inspired many others to follow suit and do themed shows based off of various pop culture icons. But what about those shows, or movies that never really quite rose to the level they deserved. Why does a show like Breaking Bad get it's own gallery show, but Walker Texas Ranger only lives on in the mind of Chuck Norris? Well, now 1988 has a solution.

"We Made Them Do It" gives a voice to all of those beloved yet unrepresented classics.


When I was told about the show, I immediately knew what I wanted to do. Saved By The Bell was one of the staples of my childhood. I wanted to be friends with Zack Morris, I thought AC Slater was so cool with the way he would sit backwards on chairs, and Kelly Kapowski was like a beautiful dream. I decided that it was only fitting to create an album for one of the greatest bands in the history of television; The Zack Attack!!


Along with pretty much every kid growing up in the late 80's and early 90's, I loved Saved By The Bell. What I loved about Saved By The Bell, or SBTB as i'll refer to it from here on out because it takes too long to type, was that Zack Morris was the popular kid, but he was friends with everyone. In real life, a kid like Screech and Slater would have never hung out because jocks and geeks just don't do that. And then there were the ladies. Lisa Turtle was way too uptight for my liking, but Kelly Kapowski and Jessie Spano were sweet, kind, and wholesome. I don't know if there are any shows on the air currently that have followed in the footsteps of Bayside High, but if there isn't, it's a damn shame because there should be. There always should be a show like this on for young teens because high-school can be terrifying. This show was special, and made something that haunts every 8th grader into something to look forward to.

A limited amount of signed/numbered prints will be available through the gallery. I'll post a link here when they go on sale online.

For each gallery show I create a one-of-a-kind framed album. The records included with the artwork always relate somehow to the subject matter:


Sadly, The Zack Attack never released a vinyl record, so I got my hands on the Pointer Sisters "I'm So Excited". Any SBTB fan will instantly know why I chose this record:


You may be thinking to yourself "But Joey, Jessie Spano wasn't in The Zack Attack" and you'd be correct. I don't know why she wasn't in that episode. In order to stay faithful to the show, I wasn't going to include Jessie, but my wife insisted she join the band.  Kristin, I dedicate this artwork to you, and the 11 year old girl that used to seal her fan letters to Mark-Paul Gossellar with a kiss.


I wanted to stay true to the spirit of the show and so for the record label I painfully reproduced some early 90's design. I was going to use comic-sans but I just couldn't bring myself to do it. Instead I found a font similar to the one Stussy used on it's clothing... Early 90's design was so ugly. Computers finally found their way into the hands of graphic designers and everyone lost their minds (and design sense apparently).

So sit back, relax, press play, and enjoy the soothing sounds of Zack Morris, AC Slater, Screech Powers, Kelly Kapowski, and Lisa Turtle. Ladies and Gentlemen, may I present "Friends Forever":


"We Made Them Do It" at Gallery 1988 West
Opening Friday July 26th 7-10pm
Gallery 1988
7308 Melrose Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90046
http://www.gallery1988.com

Rabu, 17 Juli 2013

GAME OVERTHINKER BOOK SIGNING ANNOUNCEMENT!

OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENT:

I can now confirm that I will be appearing at COMICAZI in Somerville Massachusetts (407 Highland Ave Somerville MA 02144, I believe Davis Square is the closest MBTA stop) to sell and autograph copies of my book "Super Mario Bros. 3 - Brick By Brick" (also still available online in print and ebook formats exclusively through Fangamer.net) from 11am to 2pm ET on Saturday July 27th.

I will also, of course, happily sign any copies that were purchased previously or really anything else you were to bring up (within reason.) The books themselves will cost $8.00 US, supplies are limited. 

This will be the first time the book has been available for in-person sales and/or signing since SGC. I'm working on a few other (local) events for similar setups, but this will be the first - plus, Comicazi is a great local business and deserves the attention. Hope to see some of you there!

Selasa, 09 Juli 2013

Review of "Brick by Brick"

As far as I know, this piece in Tech News Daily is the first major-publication review of my book (yes, I've seen the article on "Play 4 Real," which is a parody site.) Reviewer is Marshall Honorof, who - full disclosure - is a colleague and friend, but is also a fair guy and a pro.

Selasa, 02 Juli 2013

BUY MY BOOK

(Note: Re-post to correct a coding error possibly caused by troublemaking in the comments section, my apologies for comments that were lost. If there was a comment you had made previously that you want to make again, please do not hesitate to re-post it here)

You can now buy you're very own copy (in print or ebook) of "SUPER MARIO BROS 3: BRICK BY BRICK" from Fangamer. So, please, won't you kindly think about doing so?



Sabtu, 22 Juni 2013

Rad Raygun

I downloaded indie title "Rad Raygun" off XBLA a while back on a whim and wound up playing through the whole shebang right then and there because it was so insanely awesome, and was delighted to meet it's creators here at SGC. Seriously, this is a great indie game.

Basic pitch: It's Mega Man, but as a gung-ho Reagan-era/anti-Soviet propaganda lark... for the original GameBoy. Sticks to the premise and the aesthetic admirably, and the soundtrack is fantastic. So let's help them get on Steam Greenlight, huh?


SGC 2013 Day One

Fine fine day at the con yesterday. Moved a lot of books, shook a lot of hands, met a lot of great fans. Got to re-connect with pals Jim Sterling, Lisa Foiles, Brentalfloss and Andre "The Black Nerd;" spent some quality time with the ScrewAttack crew and had a killer evening panel with Matt and the Game Theory guys.

TODAY: I'll be at the official Game OverThinker panel at 1pm, then on a YouTube/web-video panel at 7:30pm, hopefully able to move the rest of these books in the interim. If you're here and I haven't seen you yet, by all means keep a look out :)

Kamis, 20 Juni 2013

SGC 2013: Day Zero

SGC hasn't even officially begun yet, but I've already gotten to meet lot's of great fans and colleagues. This is going to be a good one, I can feel it.

Regarding my book: I can happily announce that copies of "Super Mario Bros. 3: Brick-By-Brick" (available online soon exclusively from Fangamer.net) will be available for purchase at the ScrewAttack booth in the Dealer Room starting tomorrow (note: cash only). Some fans have already purchased copies from me "in the wild," and if you see me around lugging a briefcase or boxes chances are I've got some and I'd be happy to sell you a copy providing I have the cash onhand to make change; so please don't hesitate to ask.

In addition, I will hopefully be able to sell some copies (supply-contingent, obviously) before and after my panels and possibly also during the autograph session, so keep an eye out for that. I'll likely be re-stocking the booth as needed and to the degree that I am able (supplies are limited) so check back and watch my twitter feed (@the_moviebob) in the event of selling-out. The response to this has been overwhelmingly positive, and if it ends up that I simply didn't bring enough with me (again, online sales coming soon to Fangamer.net) well... there are worse problems for an author to have.

Stay tuned for updates, and if you're here for the con I look forward to seeing you later today :)

Adventure Time & Regular Show @ Mondo Gallery!!!

*********************************************************************************
UPDATE: 10 Artist Prints of each are now for sale by clicking HERE
*********************************************************************************
C'mon and grab your friends, we'll go to very distant lands. That distant land? It's Austin, TX! Opening tomorrow night at Mondo Gallery in Austin is the Adventure Time and Regular Show... SHOW! Inspired by two of the most incredible cartoons on TV today, if you're a fan of these Cartoon Network series, and live within driving distance of Austin, do yourself a favor and don't miss this show!


Adventure Time might be the most perfect animated series. If you haven't yet had a chance to check out  either of these cartoons, they're up on Netflix Instant Watch right now. Just go... they're both well worth your time.

I'm honored to be a part of this show along with such talented dudes and dudette's such as Mike Mitchell, Glen Brogan, and Jublin, to name a few.

I have two prints in the show. These will both be available for $35 each, with each having an edition of 60. Prints are 8"x10", signed/numbered.



I will also have 10 AP's available at some point in my Etsy store, which you can find by clicking HERE!

Come check it out, it'll make you happy!

"Adventure Time & Regular Show"
Mondo Gallery
4115 Guadalupe St.
Austin, TX

June 21st 7pm-10pm
on display through July 20th

Game OverThinker SGC Schedule

About to head for the airport now, so hit the jump for details:

So here's where and when I'm scheduled to be places during SGC2013. I'm planning to always have copies of The Book on me for sale while I'm on the floor, though it also looks like it'll have some space at the ScrewAttack sales booth as well, and I'm looking to do some selling before/after my panels and during autograph sessions if at all possible; so those looking keep a look out.

FRIDAY 6/21:
2:00 PM Game OverThinker Autograph Session (Autograph Area Landmark B&C)
9:30 PM "OverThinking It" Panel with Matthew from GameTheory and others (Main Stage 2 Landmark D)

SATURDAY 6/22:
1:00 PM THE GAME OVERTHINKER RETURNS solo/Q&A panel (Main Stage 2 Landmark D)
7:30 PM Gaming On YouTube panel with GameTheory and others (Panel Room 3 Cumberland K&L)

SUNDAY 6/23:
Nothing officially scheduled, but you never know :)

Rabu, 19 Juni 2013

EPISODE 85: "REFL3CTION"

With apologies for the wait, here's your obligatory E3-reaction episode.


NOTE: Due to Microsoft deciding to renege on pretty-much all of the terrible stuff they were threatening to do literally as I was putting the finishing touches on this episode for export, the pre-credits business is a little longer than usual to accommodate the explanation that yes, I know that the situation has changed somewhat and the rationale for why I've left the critical content in the show for posterity.

Some of you may also see an extra mid-roll ad before the opening credits, which I don't "love" doing but felt was allowable given the running time.

XBOX 180

BREAKING: Microsoft has opted to drastically reverse-course on several key issues surrounding the XBox One. Online checks, used game restrictions and regional restrictions have been removed and will no longer be part of the system.

Now, if you'll excuse me, I have a video or two to frantically re-edit. Microsoft: Even when they do something I like, they still screw me...

Jumat, 14 Juni 2013

The Book Is Imminent

The first printing has been completed on my first book, "Super Mario Bros. 3: Brick By Brick." Very exciting.

The book will be available for sale online likely sometime in the coming week (exact date TBD) exclusively through Fangamer.net (there will be an e-book version as well) although I will be bringing a limited number of physical copies to SGC next weekend to be sold in person (and signed, if that be your bag) pretty-much whenever I've got a free moment to do so and also during/after my designated panel/autograph times.

At this time, those are the only two ways to purchase the book currently slated, and unfortunately I am not able to ship/sell copies over the web myself. However, I'm also working on putting together some local sales-events here in the Boston area and will make the dates/locations of those available as I get them. If you happen to BE the proprietor of a Boston area gaming/book/etc establishment and are interested in discussing hosting a selling/signing event please hit me up in the comments below.

Selasa, 11 Juni 2013

Mega Man Lives

I am INSANELY busy today, so I'll be putting more detailed E3 stuff up at a later date. Suffice it to say: Microsoft "lost" by being shockingly (even for Microsoft) tone-deaf and anti-consumer (having the "big story" of your presser be a rape-joke certainly didn't help) Sony "won" by basically announcing their plans to do things that we really ought to expect/demand of console makers to begin with, Nintendo showed up to a video-game show to sell video-games - what a novel approach.

Short version: New Yoshi's Island, new Donkey Kong, Wonderful 101 still looks appropriately titled and 3D multiplayer Mario with Peach as a playable character for the first time in 25 years (and also you can turn into a cat now.)

Oh, and this...



Oh, so THAT'S how fucking awesome next-gen Mega Man could be if Capcom didn't have their head up their ass.

Senin, 10 Juni 2013

Winning

So, in case you didn't hear, Sony won the "XBox One vs Playstation 4" part of E3 (which basically means E3, but Nintendo hasn't had their non-press conference press conference yet and *I* still care, okay?)

The PS4 will not block used games, will not require an online connection, and will launch with a pricepoint $100.00 US below Microsoft's console. Oh, and also Kingdom Hearts III.

Selasa, 28 Mei 2013

"Tropes Vs Women" Releases Episode 2

Oh hey, look at that:

I'm on my way to work right now, so I'll be watching in-full and commenting further later. For now, have at it:

UPDATE 1: Work was canceled, video watched, comments below the jump:

UPDATE 2: Some vengeful asshats have (apparently) gotten the clip taken down by exploiting YouTube's draconian TOS. A written transcript is still available HERE. Obviously, as soon as I see where it goes back up, I'll repost. People with mirrored links are welcome to post them in the comments until then.





So, then...

In many ways, I feel like this episode was a really solid reaction to the "where's the new substance?" critiques of the first one - much more in depth, much more focused on the "why is this problematic?" aspects, etc. Everything from 22:35 on, in particular, should serve as an answer to the "misandry is just as bad!!!" fools; laying out how patriarchy is also disempowering to men.

Honestly, though? I actually feel like she wasn't hard enough on some of this; particularly the "The bad guy corrupted me and you must kill me to set me free!" thing. What gets glossed-over so often with the Damsel in Distress thing is that the original context of "Save The Princess!" fairytales was rescuing women from having their virginity stolen (via rape or otherwise) by parties who did not have the proper claim on such in an era where virginity was inextricably tied to marriageability and thus the entirey of female worth. "Kill me, I'm a monster!" in other words being a modernization of "Kill me, I am a 'ruined' woman!" It's a fantasy-ization of honor-killing, basically, and that's pretty fucking pernicious.

P.S. Comments will remain enabled on this post until such time as people prove themselves incapable of behaving like grownups. Abusive/trolling comments will be deleted at the discretion of me. People with an issue about the YouTube video itself not having comments are advised to click here and then go get some sunlight.

Senin, 06 Mei 2013

Super Hero costumes at Seattle Emerald City Comicon 2013

Have you ever wanted to see your favorite super heroes, star wars characters, etc?  You get tons of people in costumes at the comic con and here is a video showing off a bunch of people dressed up.  By the way, who is your favorite character?

The xenophobia ironed a pancake

Minggu, 05 Mei 2013

Emerald City Comic Con 2013 recap

Hey everyone.  Have you ever been to a comic con?  I have been to the Emerald City Comic Con 2 times now and went to the comic con this year back in March.  I was there for most of the day, took pictures, saw celebrities (such as Adam West from the Classic Batman movie), got pictures of people dressed up as super heroes, and others. Below are a bunch of the pictures I took (using my Windows phone).


2 Boba Fetts Posing for the Camera (including a white Boba Fett)

Me Posing with "Captain America" and a random imperial moff

Battle Droid?


Michael Rooker and Danai Gurira from "Talking Dead" Panel discussion.



Here is a funny picture of 2 business men posing as Darth Vader and Boba Fett

Darth Vader "force choking" (not really of course) a random jedi character

Random booth at the comic con

It's gumby

Justin with a random person dressed up as a robot (he got a bunch of pictures too)

Isn't this impressive: a huge lego castle.  The person who built this  definitely has talent.  I wouldn't know how to do something like this myself.

Natalia Tena at the Comic Con.  She is one of the support characters from the Harry Potter films.

Star Trek Improv.  Yes, there was an entertaining Star Trek Improv at the Emerald City Comic Con.  Pretty funny too.  

Adam West and Burt Ward at the comic con.  If you are ever looking to   see celebrities in person, comic cons (like the one in Seattle) are a good place to look.  You probably won't meet them in person unless if you pay to get an autograph with them, though.

Here are some people posing as Batman (pretty authentic costume if you ask me), Loki (from the Avengers and Thor), and Hallie from Batman
There was a section at the comic con where a bunch of the Star Wars characters congregated., such as  Darth Sidious (aka Emperor Palpatine), a Storm Trooper, tuskan raiders, etc).
It is Darth Maul and a random female Sith (not sure who she is trying to portray)
Galactus Posing for the camera.  Can't you imagine if Galactus was real?  No planet would be safe from his ravenous appetite (including Earth).  
Add caption
Justin posing with Super girl.  Like in this picture, Justin taught me that comic cons can actually good places to meet people (especially people of the opposite gender) as he was able to meet some cute (not sure how else to put it) women this way too.  I will have to try that out myself next year.
Justin and Wonder Woman?  
It's Luigi and Zelda!  Link and Zelda probably gone together better though in my opinion.

Random Lady posing with R2 (the R2 unit looks pretty authentic).
Hey, do any of you like the power rangers?  At the comic con , there were a group of people who were dressed up as the power rangers.  They looked almost like the real thing too (costume and all).  Note: this picture can also be found at www.rangerboard.com.  I actually got a picture of them too before leaving the comic con (they were posing close to where some of the celebrity panels were) on Justin's camera, but he forgot to post the picture, but this picture will do.  By the way they look almost like the real thing from the TV shows (though I doubt that they are the same actors, though I did not see who was behind the masks either).  By the way, I have been watching some of the episodes from the original power rangers series for old times' sake, so getting a picture of them was pretty cool.  By the way (especially to you fellow guys), who all used to have a crush on the pink ranger?  I know I did back in the day.










Those are a bunch of the pictures from the comic con (not all inclusive, but I am sure you can find more pictures and videos from others on the net).

Overview of the Emerald City Comic Con


I went to the comic con with Justin (my brother) on Saturday (back in March) and we were there for almost the whole day (longer than we were last year).  It was a fun filled day and we did quite a bit.  We walked around, took pictures, saw all of the different booths and stations people set up.  We also sat in several panel discussions, including: one that offered tips on dating and relationships (I probably could have benefited from it myself considering that I am still single, at least at at the time of this posting, will update you if that ever changes of course), a star trek improv (which was pretty funny skit where a bunch of dudes pretend to be from the original Star trek series and venture to worlds that visitors come up with and they do a star trek style episode), various celebrity panels (such as Natalia from Harry Potter, Adam West / Burt Ward, along with several others).  We did quite of other things too, including trying out a new mech warrior style game coming out in the near future (can't remember the name of it), took pictures of people dressed up as super heroes, star wars characters, etc.  By the way, there were some celebrities at the comic con I did not see, including Patrick Stewart, the guy who played "Alpha 5" from power rangers, Billy Dee Williams (Lando from Star Wars Empire Strikes back), Will Wheaton, the lady from X-files, and several others, but I am sure you can find them on youtube and elsewhere on the net.  By the way, when I saw the "talking dead" panel, it was originally supposed to be a panel for Carrie Fisher (Leia from Star Wars), but she was a no show (unfortunately).

Highlights of our visit includes:
- Watching a panel discussion on meeting women for nerds (at least from male perspective)
- Watched a Star Trek improve episode
- Saw several celebrity panels, including Natalia Tena (from Harry Potter), Burt Ward, Adam West, Michael Rooker and Danai Gurira
- Checked out the many different exhibits and booths
- Tried out a new mech warrior style game coming out in the next few months (online based)
- Took pictures of a bunch of people in costubes (like the ones in the pictures above).  There were a bunch of other people in costumes too and I wish I could have gotten them all, but I am sure you can find more cosplay pictures on google and bing.
- Along with a bunch of other things.

This year, I did not dress up, but next year, I probably will try to dress up.  Some ideas I am kicking around includes:
- Spiderman
- Deadpool
- Nick Fury (btw, before Samuel Jackson's version of Nick Fury, he wasn't always protrayed as an African American as was the case, for example in Marvel Ultimate Alliances 1 and 2).
- Power Ranger character (probably the red ranger), though I bet those costumes would be expensive to buy.
- Superman
or whatever.

Well, that is all for now.  Were any of you at the comic con?  Feel free to share your experiences.  Also, feel free to like and share this post with others and your support would be most appreciated.